Archaeological and Mediaeval Architectural Protected Area at|
The archaeological and mediaeval architecture site of Tārgsoru Vechi lies at about 10 km south-west of the town of Ploiesti, on the right side of the highway linking the villages of Strejnic and Tārgsoru Vechi. It gathers a lot of underground and aboveground monuments spread over a surface of about 17 hectars.
Tārgsoru Vechi, a residence of the Wallachian princes, and an old urban centre, drew the attention of historians (Gh. Tocilescu), and architects (Al. Zagoritz) due to the importance of its monuments as early as the end of the 19th century and the beginning of the 20th century.
The assemblage of the Tārgsor monuments was included in the relevant literature due to the interventions from C.C. Giurescu, in 1924, who in the Bulletin of the Board of Historic Monuments emphasized the interest of the objective and the danger of its being damaged; V. Draghiceanu, the only one to publish in 1927 the unique inscription preserved from Vlad Tepes, uncovered here, and N. Iorga, the saviour by direct intervention of some of the mediaeval vestiges.